New Zealand based Heavy Metal label and distribution
Cart 0
DARKTHRONE - 1996 - Goatlord CD (Reissue)


DARKTHRONE - 1996 - Goatlord CD (Reissue)


CD, Peaceville Records, Jewel case, Alt artwork, Recorded 1991 / Vocals added 1994 / Originally released 1996 / 2018 Reissue

Norwegian Black Metal

1. Rex
2. Pure Demoniac Blessing
3. (The) Grimness Of Which Shepherds Mourn
4. Sadomasochistic Rites
5. As Desertshadows
6. In His Lovely Kingdom
7. Black Daimon
8. Toward(s) The Thornfields
9. (Birth of Evil) Virgin Sin
10. Green Cave Float
Bonus track
11. A Blaze in the Northern Sky (1991)

"Mid-price CD edition of Darkthrone's 'Lost' death metal opus, including bonus track.

Darkthrone began in the late 80's as a thrash/death metal act and progressed through technical death/doom metal experimentation to become legends of the black metal world and one of the original leading bands of the Norwegian scene. 
'Goatlord' is the title of what was to originally be Darkthrone's second album. The style followed very much in the vein of the debut, 'Soulside Journey', with a mid-paced melodic, yet technical death metal style. After the recording of the tracks in their completed demo form in 1991, however, Darkthrone's focus shifted towards black metal and so the album was shelved, while work commenced on what was to be the Norwegian black metal milestone, 'A Blaze in the Northern Sky', which did actually incorporate some parts from the 'Goatlord' tracks. 
'Goatlord' was only ever recorded instrumentally, and so it wasn't until 1994 that Fenriz added vocals to the songs, with the album eventually seeing a release on the band's then label, Moonfog Productions in 1996." -

Share this Product

More from this collection